So Far, But So Close

Forewarning: My goal is not to make these posts sound whiny, but I’m in a really whiny mood. If you would not like to read my whining, these are not the droids you’re looking for, move along.

I’m stuck. I feel tons of pressure to prep for this trip, complete a megaton worth of schoolwork, and then once all of that is said and done, take the trip and then find a job that I can turn into a career without slaving away in retail until I’m 40. (Sorry, the idea of STILL working weekends when I’m well into my 40’s just does NOT appeal to me).

I was already contemplating moving on from Target and going to a temp agency or something (my hours have neither been consistent or close to large enough to what I was hoping) but when I saw my new schedule gave me only 21 hours for the week and had me scheduled off from Monday until Friday, I was more than a little perturbed. I’ve been begging for hours at work and my most recent paycheck was on the level I was hoping. I had 70 hours for 2 weeks. This is about what I need at my current pay rate to save up for my trip in time. But one week of 26 hours and another of 21 just doesn’t cut it.

I think it may be time to move on to the next thing, which is absolutely terrifying. I have this nice, safe retail bubble and backup plan that has been created by Target over the last 3 years and 3 months. They have been great to me in relation to school and have provided the best retail company I have ever worked for. But it’s still retail. I can do it, I don’t mind it, but I don’t love it. I want to do something I love.

This trip isn’t going to be cheap. I did the math as a rough estimate and I am going to need at least $650 just for gas. Granted, it is 7000 miles, so I’m not surprised (anymore). When I first did the math I was blown away that my biggest expense will just be for the ability to be on the motorcycle. I don’t have a huge gas tank on the bike, so I know I’ll be spending a lot of time gassing up. You’d think I’d be afraid of running out of gas, but I’m more excited than anything. I view every single piece of this trip as an adventure.

I’m not sure if I said this officially on here yet or not, but even if I blow out both tires AND run out of gas at the same time, I’m still going to be having the time of my life. Shouldn’t this always be our attitudes? Viewing “mishaps” or “struggles” as adventures and learning experiences instead of life either “defeating” or “ruining” us? I know I’m going to learn a lot from this trip, but I can’t wait to share my experiences and stories with everyone once I get back. I’m gonna owe a lot of people coffee.

Leave a Reply

